Clockwork Gremlin plays Kerbal Space Program Part 1: Science To Do

This is Kerbal Space Center.

Where the magic happens!

Where the magic happens!

Click on the science center, and we get the Science screen:

Can I work with this?

Can I work with this?

You start Campaign mode without even basic rocketry.  Basic rocketry costs 5 science, and you have 0 science.  We’re going to have to fix that, so I’ll click on the Vehicle Assembly Building(VAB), which lets me build a rocket, Lego-style!

I'll need one of these...

I’ll need one of these…

And something to make us go...

And something to make us go…

Rocket designed, I click the Launch button, which takes us to the launch pad, with my wonderfully-designed rocket sitting pretty on it.

The First Mission:

We’re here for science, so the first thing I do is…

I need your science.

I need your science.

Get a Crew report, then kick Jebediah out of the pod to get an EVA report.

Crew, give me your report on sitting on the launch pad.

Crew, give me your report on sitting on the launch pad.

Jebediah, your report on hanging onto the control pod ladder for dear life?

Jebediah, your report on hanging onto the control pod ladder for dear life?

Great!  Now, to turn in the science!

I'm sorry, did you expect to actually GO somewhere today?

I’m sorry, did you expect to actually GO somewhere today?

That's the stuff!

That’s the stuff!

Sweet, sweet science.

The Second Mission:

That was anti-climactic.  Let’s actually launch the rocket this time.

Going up!

Going up!

How high can a rocket like this go?  Not quite 20km.

But it goes FAST!

But it goes FAST!

Those are shockwave effects from breaking the sound barrier.  The game actually uses the same effects for re-entry heating and mach shockwaves, just the re-entry ones are colored an angry orange, and only occur between about 25 and 30 km up.  I’ve seen a couple of people(including myself) produce “re-entry” effects while on the way out of the atmosphere.

Anyway, while I’m up here, I may as well grab some more science.

Crew, write a report on getting high and then stepping outside of the craft.

Crew, write a report on getting high and then stepping outside of the craft.

Now it’s time to float gently back to Kerbin, with our Science in tow…

This is the one part of the trip that everyone agrees with Jebediah on.  Any other time, they'll put the in-suit filtration system through its paces.

This is the one part of the trip that everyone agrees with Jebediah on. Any other time, they’ll put the in-suit filtration system through its paces.

Hit the ground a little too hard for the solid fuel booster to take, so it exploded.  Apparently they’re not rated for 8 meters per second.  Everything else in the game can handle 10.

To maximize our Science content, I have Jeb hop out of what’s left of the rocket and collect some soil samples and plant a flag.

In layman's terms, this is known as "dirt."

In layman’s terms, this is known as “dirt.”

And we’ll send the recovery crew out to pick him up, yielding… more science!

So this is dirt!  Interesting!

So this is dirt! Interesting!

Finally, we’ll go pick up the capsule that’s got Jeb’s previous logs in it, and turn that in for even more science.

Lots of science!

Lots of science!

Next time, we’ll spend that science, and see where it takes us.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Clockwork Gremlin plays Kerbal Space Program Part 1: Science To Do

  1. I made a rocket that escaped the system by layering tiers and tiers of those little boosters. I think I was getting atmo effects at about 500 meters…

    By the way, my Duna mission is currently staying in orbit around the red planet, debating if they have enough fuel to get home, or if they should stick there and call for a fuel-probe. Unfortunately my friend just started up a minecraft server and wants me to play there, which may mean I park KSP and try to brush off my MC skillz. Which are going to be pretty rusty considering I haven’t played in a year, and don’t have any idea what kind of madness they’ve updated it with.

  2. I’d personally call for a fuel probe, but then if you’re too cautious, it can get too easy and not interesting enough. For example, Scott Manley takes a single orange fuel tank all over the place.(now I get to see if my blog supports HTML tags)

    If you run out of fuel on-planet, do you think you could still drop a refuel?

    The basics of Minecraft are still mostly the same. As far as I can recall, it’s mostly redstone that’s been updated.

  3. Well, the lander got down and back and rendezvoused ok, just used more fuel than I was anticipating because my landing spot was high enough the parachutes didn’t open til I was just a couple hundred meters up. I’m thinking I’ll give it a shot and then re-load if it doesn’t work out.

Leave a Reply. Wheaton's Rule in full effect.

