Clockwork Gremlin plays Kerbal Space Program! Part 0: What is KSP?

I’ve been messing around with Campaign mode in 0.22, and suddenly thought “Hey, I should use this for blog material!”

And so here we are.  This is Kerbal Space Program:

screenshot16

Kerbals.  Space.  Program.  It’s all there.

Kerbal Space Program is kind of like Orbiter meets Lemmings.  You’re in control of a space program on the fictional planet Kerbin, and they have made the …dubious… decision to give you absolute and unquestioning control over hiring, budget, construction, flight plans, and the actions of their own astronauts.

It’s a good thing they’re all cartooney and regularly come back to life, or you’d feel a lot worse when they died.

Anyway.  One of the new features that was released in 0.22 is the beginnings of Campaign mode.  I wasn’t looking forward to this.  “How can having a budget and other limits be better than having access to everything at once?”  Regardless, I went ahead and tried it.  Turns out this was a good idea.

See, previously I just did loads of this:

Jeb is in his heaven, all is right with the world.

Jeb is in his heaven, all is right with the world.

I always claimed I was making a refueling depot to get to the rest of the solar system.  Really!  But I never went anywhere, just constantly filling up the fuel tanks and adding more.  I’d never even landed anything on the Mun!

Crashed, plenty.  Landed, not so much.

This is harder than it looks.

This is harder than it looks.

Campaign mode changed all that.  See, in 0.22, Campaign mode brings in a technology tree, which limits the parts available to you.  You have to earn the rest by spending SCIENCE!  You get more SCIENCE! by going on missions and gathering information from places, and then transmitting or bringing it back to Kerbin.

Suddenly, I’ve landed probes on 2 planets and 3 moons, landed two manned missions on the Mun(OK, one was crashed, and the second was a rescue party), all in the name of SCIENCE!  And I don’t even HAVE a space station!

So I’m gonna start a new Campaign, and record my progress.  Hopefully you’ll enjoy it.

4 thoughts on “Clockwork Gremlin plays Kerbal Space Program! Part 0: What is KSP?

  1. Yesssssssssss.

    I too have been playing campaign. Got all my science unlocked, and NOW I’m building a refueling station for a manned mission to… somewhere.

    • Perhaps I should propose a little competition, then? One which you will likely win, of course. You start a new campaign, play alongside me, record progress on your blog.

      I’m thinking first person to fill the tech tree, then we’ll each propose two additional objectives(Land Kerbals on, return from, SSTO spaceplane to, permanent base on, that kind of thing). Whadaya think?

Leave a Reply. Wheaton's Rule in full effect.

